Alumni Awards

Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards

The Department of Computer Science annually recognizes alumni and faculty members who have made professional, technical, educational, or service contributions that brings distinction to themselves, the department, and the university. We welcome all alumni and friends to be a part of this tradition: nominate someone you know worthy of this honor, and come back to campus to celebrate with each new class.

Congratulations to our 2019 honorees:

  • Young Alumni Achievement Award: Vinay Hiremath
  • Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award: Jeff Holden
  • Early Career Academic Achievement Alumni Award: Hui Fang, Ali Farhadi
  • Distinguished Academic Achievement Alumni Award: Sy-Yen Kuo, Raymond Mooney
  • Distinguished Alumni Service: Shig Matsushita
  • Distinguished Achievement Memorial Award: Clarence Ellis
  • David J. Kuck Outstanding Thesis Awards: Unnat Jain (MS), Shadi Abdollahian Noghabi (PhD)
  • Scott H. Fisher Computer Science Teaching Award: Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider
  • C.W. Gear Outstanding Junior Faculty Award: Jian Peng

Registration details for this year's event are available here!

The CS Awards activities are held in conjunction with the Celebration of Excellence Student Awards Program and the Women in Computer Science Alumni & Student Dinner, making it an ideal time to visit campus. 

See Past Recipients

The recipients of the 2017 Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards. Seated (from left): Rajesh Karmani, Nikil Dutt, James E. Smith, Aditya Parameswaran, Marianne Winslett, Kishor Trivedi, Andrei Ştefănescu, and Svetlana Lazebnik. Standing (from left): Isaac J. Hall, Richard M. Schell, Steven Ko, Drina C. Yue, Interim CS Department Head Vikram Adve, Jill Zmaczynski, Xiang Ren, and Scott Fisher.